User manual details

01 Create Registration

Set up a registration for an event and manage the participant limits
Create Event
To start a registration, you must first create an event: 'Events -> New'. Select an event template from which the texts for the website and emails should be copied. Then enter the title and the start and end date. Under the status, you define the internal planning state of the event (optional, definitive, done, ...). This status is used to calculate the number of active events for your subscription and determines whether the event is displayed under 'Events'.
 
You will then be taken automatically to the detail view of the event. The title of the event is only visible internally and not for participants. Further settings for the event are optional for a registration.
 
Set the registration status
The most important settings of a registration can be made under 'Event Details -> Registration'. A registration has its own title, which is also visible to participants. This title can be the same as for the event, or have its own name.
 
The status of a registration determines whether participant can register:
  • Design: the event website is not visible and participants can not login or register. Use this status when designing the event website.
  • Open: Participants may register
  • Info: Participants can see the event website for information, but do not register. All login buttons are not displayed.
  • Check in: Participants can see the event website for information, but do not register. All login buttons are not displayed. The check in can be carried out (see chek in)
  • Closed: the event web page is not visible, but a text is displayed instead, which can be customized under 'Event Details -> Website -> Edit Website -> Closed Text'

If you have the checkbox set to 'Modify the answer later', a participant can change his answer to the questionnaire after answering it. Uncheck if you do not want to allow any changes after the first response. This is e.g. If you want a binding commitment from the participant and do not want to allow cancellations.
 
Type the registry
Next, you can specify whether the registration is only accessible to a closed subscriber group, or whether you want a public registration where new subscribers register with their name, etc.:
  • None: only participants can register, which you have created in Contacts (see creating and importing contacts). You usually send an invitation email with which you can register.
  • Input data, then verify email: the contact data (first and last name, email, ...) are recorded on the public website. The participant then receives an email whose text can be specified under 'Event Details -> Emails -> Confirmation Registration'. In the emaail you can put a registration button, which takes you to the event website. This process corresponds to an opt-in procedure, since the participant can only log on if he has entered a valid email address and clicks on the button. The disadvantage of this procedure is that they lose part of the participants who do not understand that they have to click on a registration button again after the registration.
  • Input data, then display web page: the contact data (first and last name, email, ...) are recorded on the public website. Afterwards the participant reaches the event website, where he can inform himself about the event and can register via the registration button. Caution: With this process they run the risk that participants specify incorrect e-mail addresses and are thus exposed to a data security and legal risk. E.g. If someone specifies a real email from another person, that person receives all yve emails without having agreed to, which is legally not allowed.
  • Show questionnaire, then display the event website: the contact data (first and last name, email, ...) are recorded on the public website. In addition, the questionnaire is displayed, in which you can request participation and further questions. This process has the least effort for the participants. Caution: With this process they run the risk that participants specify incorrect e-mail addresses and are thus exposed to a data security and legal risk. E.g. If someone specifies a real email from another person, that person receives all yve emails without having agreed to what is legally not allowed. In addition, the participant has to decide before he can get information on the event website.
  • Display registration closed text, do not allow registration: The text for 'registration closed' is displayed and no further public registrations are allowed. The existing participants can continue to answer the questionnaire.

You can also start an event with both public and closed registration at the same time. Caution: Please remember that yve prevents duplicates - a participant you have already created as a contact can no longer register itself on the public website, but must log in using its login data or the email login button. Yve automatically detects existing contacts and redirects to the login page. If the existing contact is not already assigned to the event, an assignment is automatically made for it. In the case of an existing contact, the data is not automatically taken over by the registration, but the questionnaire must be filled again.
 
Limits
The maximum number of participants determines how many participants are accepted. You will receive a warning email as soon as this number is reached. After this, participants can no longer sign in, but receive a message that the event is fully booked. You will receive a warning e-mail with the contact data for each participant, who wants to register after the limit has been reached, so that you can take action.
 
The maximum number of accompanying persons determines how many accompanying persons they want to allow at most. You can determine whether the names of the accompanying persons are also queried and whether the name is a mandatory field. You can decide whether accompanying persons are counted when the check is carried out against the maximum number of participants.
 
Each event can have its own event community (see create communities) in which participants can exchange information. You can determine whether participants will automatically enter the community or have to agree to it (Opt in).
 
 
Tips for the perfect registration
  • If you have more than one subscriber group that needs to see different content, set up a separate event for each subscriber group. You can copy events completely with all web page content.
  • Do not forget to adjust the maximum number of participants. Remember that you will also have participants who do not come, even though they have accepted the invitation
 
Next Step
Create event webpage>